How to delete your Twitter account

0  comments

Twitter can be a harmful place to spend too much time if you aren’t careful, and deleting your account is a straightforward process. Even though it’s a terrific digital tool for keeping up with news, memes, and other digital content, it can be toxic if you spend too much time on it.

Deleting versus deactivating

Twitter doesn’t permit you to delete your account immediately. Deactivating your account is the first step in the deletion process. During the first 30 days, you can choose whether you want to delete your account permanently¬†or if you’d like to reactivate it. If you log back into your account within the first 30 days, it will be reactivated. If you don’t, it will be deleted on day 30.

What does deactivating your Twitter account mean?

On Twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, and Twitter for Android, your username and the public profile will not be viewable if you deactivate your account. If you reactivate your account before the 30-day window is up, everything will remain as it was on the day you clicked the deactivate button.

How to download your Twitter data before you deactivate your account

You may want to save a backup of your Twitter account before deleting it, especially if you want to keep a record of everything you’ve ever tweeted. To do so, go to Account Settings by clicking the ‘More’ button in the navigation bar on the left side of your screen. Choose ‘Your account’ from the dropdown menu. Then select ‘Download archive of your data’ from the dropdown menu.

Mashable Image


Credit: screengrab: Amy-Mae turner

Click “Confirm” to finish. You must now verify your identity by clicking “Send code to your email address and/or phone number on file.” If you do not have an email address or phone number on file, you will be redirected to the Account information page. After verifying your identity, click the “Request data” button.

Twitter will send an email to your connected email account or push notification if you have the app installed when your .zip file data is ready for download. You can find the “Download data” button in the Download data section of your settings. After you receive the email, you can download your Twitter data as a .zip file by logging into your Twitter account and clicking the “Download” button.

How to deactivate your Twitter account on a desktop

Click on the “More” icon on the left-hand side navigation bar.

Mashable Image


Credit: screengrab: Amy-Mae turner

Then click on “Settings and privacy” from the drop-down menu.

Mashable Image


Credit: screengrab: Amy-Mae turner

Click on ” Deactivate your account from the “Your account” tab, click on “Deactivate your account.”

deleting your twitter account


Credit: screengrab: Amy-Mae turner

Read the account deactivation information, then click “Deactivate.”

Mashable Image


Credit: screengrab: Amy-Mae turner

Enter your password when prompted and confirm that you want to proceed by clicking the “Deactivate account” button.

How to deactivate your Twitter account on iOS

To deactivate your account, tap the three lines icon at the top of your screen, then select “Settings and privacy.” Next, select “Your account.” Then tap “Deactivate your account.” After reading the account deactivation information, tap “Deactivate.” You will be prompted for your password, so enter it and tap “Deactivate.” To confirm your deactivation, tap “Yes, deactivate.”

How to deactivate your Twitter account on Android

Two icons in the top menu can help you navigate. If you see an account icon or a navigation menu icon, tap it, then tap “Settings and Privacy.” You’ll find “Account,” “Deactivate your account,” and “Deactivate” listed next to one another. Read about account deactivation and then click “Deactivate.” You’ll be prompted for your password, so enter it and then click “Deactivate.” Confirm whether you want to proceed by tapping “Yes, deactivate.”

How to reactivate your Twitter account within the 30-day deactivation period

Within the 30-day deactivation window, logging into your account restores it completely if you change your mind and decide not to delete your Twitter account.


Tags


You may also like

Subscribe to our newsletter now!